untitled №18

October 20, 2009

Do those who have tasted death no longer fear it?

When I was very young, I drowned while in a pool with no lifeguard on duty. There was only one other person in the pool, and my grandma was on the side watching.

I don’t remember feeling any fear or anxiety about dying during or afterward. As it happened, the other swimmer happened to be a lifeguard.

Strange how things work out…

Life went on as usual, but somehow was more vivid. I became more observant. I remember watching trees and bushes move with the wind, not trying to understand, but to see it for what it was.

I feel like somehow this is part of why I don’t have the drive for material goods like most people do. I don’t see the point in collecting anything that will be gone when I am. Or at the very best, useless to have collected. I merely seek to be enjoyable. My grand ambition is to enjoy life.

I think I do alright.

One Response to “untitled №18”

  1. Alex Says:

    I know what that is like, in general i dont keep my money, i dont buy things, what i do spend it on is my friends and family. the experiances are what i crave. When i was young i went too far out into Lake Sammamish and got pulled out too far, my aunt saved me but it made alot sense now why i am as i am. i was going after a toy boat when i was going too deep.


Leave a comment